A Charleston Photographer’s Perspective: Don’t Stand There

by:  Jason Bennett

Many years ago when I was a technical director/director for broadcast news, I was approached by a rookie videographer asking for advice.  Because I worked behind the scenes back at the station and not out in the field, I had a unique perspective of the video that was being gathered.

He asked, “What is the main thing that can separate me from all other shooters?”  I pondered a minute and said, “When you get to a location that you want to shoot, pick a spot, then don’t stand there!”

What did I mean? Well, it’s kinda simple really.  The spot you first choose – the obvious one – is where every other shooter will choose.  It is usually the place that is the most uninteresting.  Work a little harder for a unique perspective.  It seems trivial, but will pay off big in the long run.

These photos were taken by our son while being taught this philosophy.  I think he may understand.

I have always tried to be curious, original, and unique; and abide by a single rule:  See things from a place that other people can’t, don’t or won’t and you will truly have a unique perspective that can be shared with the world.

About docent~prodigy video photography charleston

Docent Prodigy is a video and photography company based in Charleston, SC. We have over 25 years combined experience. Visit our website to view samples of our work at www.docentprodigy.com.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment